“is that a magazine?”

Books-A-Million, Madison, Alabama, Friday, 9:30 AM.

“Is there something I could help you with?”

“Tell me, if I were looking for a copy of the current issue of the New Yorker, would I be wasting my time in this store?

“Just a second, I’ll check… is that a magazine?”

“Yes.”

“Hmm. I don’t see anything… Pam, do we carry the New Yorker? It’s a magazine.”

“Never heard of it.”

“Thank you.”

One Response to ““is that a magazine?””

  1. chez beziat Says:

    Beautiful.

    I remember driving home from Sunbright, TN one Sunday. I stopped in at a small general store and on a whim inquired about the New York Times.

    “Why would you want that? You’re not in New York,” came the reply. In a sense, I felt like I deserved that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

